Your Councillors

Your Councillors by Ward

City Councillors

Oxford has a total of 48 City Councillors, with two Councillors elected for each of the 24 wards.

The City Council normally elects half the council every two years (one councillor in each ward).

The next election, to elect half the council, is in May 2024.

More details about each City Councillor are below.

Political make-up

The current political composition of the Council is:

  • Labour Group - 20 seats
  • Liberal Democrat Group - 9 seats
  • Green Group - 6 seats
  • Oxford Socialist Independents Group - 6 seats
  • Independent Group - 3 seats
  • Independent (non-grouped) - 2 seats
  • Vacant - 2 seat

What councillors do

Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these may take place on a regular basis.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form.

County Councillors and MPs

City Councillors' details

 Barton & Sandhills

 Blackbird Leys

 Carfax & Jericho


  • Councillor Susan Brown



    Leader of the Council, Leader of the Labour Group, Cabinet Member for Inclusive Economy and Partnerships

  • Councillor Mark Lygo



    Sheriff of Oxford & Cabinet Member for Inclusive and Safer Communities


 Cutteslowe & Sunnymead



 Headington Hill & Northway

 Hinksey Park



 Lye Valley


 Northfield Brook

 Osney & St Thomas

 Quarry & Risinghurst

 Rose Hill & Iffley

 St Clement's

 St Mary's


 Temple Cowley

 Walton Manor