Your Councillors

Your Councillors by Ward

Oxford has a total of 48 City Councillors, with two Councillors elected for each of the 24 wards.

Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are available by clicking on each Councillor below.

Oxford City Council's current political make-up following the election on 3 May 2018 and the confirmation of political groups at Annual Council on 15 May 2018 is:

Party Number of Seats
Labour 34 seats
Liberal Democrat 9 seats
Green 2 seats
Independents (not a party group) 3 seats

To find your Councillor please use the links below. For details of MPs and MEPs and County Councillors please use the links on the left

 Barton and Sandhills

 Blackbird Leys




 Cowley Marsh


 Headington Hill and Northway

 Hinksey Park


 Iffley Fields

 Jericho and Osney


 Lye Valley



 Northfield Brook

 Quarry and Risinghurst

 Rose Hill and Iffley

 St. Clement's

 St. Margaret's

 St. Mary's

  • link to details of Councillor Craig Simmons
    Councillor Craig Simmons

    St. Mary's

    Green Party

    Sheriff; Leader of the Green Group; Green Group shadow member for finance, leisure, parks and sports

  • link to details of Councillor Dick Wolff
    Councillor Dick Wolff

    St. Mary's

    Green Party

    Green Group shadow member for transport, culture and communities


  • link to details of Councillor Andrew Gant
    Councillor Andrew Gant


    Liberal Democrat

    Liberal Democrat Group Leader, Liberal Democrat shadow member for Corporate Strategy & Economic Development, Customer and Corporate Services

  • link to details of Councillor Michael Gotch
    Councillor Michael Gotch


    Liberal Democrat