COUNCIL

Monday 20 May 2013

COUNCILLORS PRESENT: Councillors Abbasi, Altaf-Khan, Armitage, Baxter, Benjamin, Brett, Brown, Canning, Clack, Clarkson, Cook, Coulter, Curran, Darke, Fooks, Fry, Goddard, Gotch, Haines, Hollick, Humberstone, Jones, Kennedy, Khan, Lloyd-Shogbesan, Lygo, Malik, Mills, O'Hara, Paule, Pressel, Price, Rowley, Royce, Rundle, Sanders, Seamons, Sinclair, Smith, Tanner, Turner, Van Nooijen, Wilkinson, Williams and Wolff.

1. ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2013/14

Councillor Laurence Baxter proposed and Councillor Saj Malik seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor Dee Sinclair be elected as Lord Mayor of Oxford for the Council Year 2013/14.

Councillor Sinclair took the Chair from Councillor Abbasi and then made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

2. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2013/14

Councillor Graham Jones proposed and Councillor Elise Benjamin seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor Tony Brett be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor of Oxford for the Council Year 2013/14.

Councillor Brett then made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

3. APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2013/14

Councillor Bob Price proposed and Councillor Jean Fooks seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved to appoint Councillor Mohammed Abbasi Sheriff of Oxford and Conservator of Port Meadow and City Fisheries for the Council Year 2013/14.

Councillor Abbasi then made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

4. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Campbell, McCready and Simmons.

5. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE LORD MAYOR

The Lord Mayor made two announcements:-

- (1) That Chris Scanlan, a Liberal Democrat Councillor for Barton and Sandhills between 2006 and 2010 had died recently. Could stood for a minute in silent memory.
- (2) That at the City bye-elections on 2nd May 2013 Susan Brown had been elected as councillor for Churchill Ward and Michele Paule had been elected councillor for Rose Hill and Iffley Ward. The Lord Mayor welcomed both councillors to their first Council meeting and Council congratulated the councillors on their election.

6. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The Chief Executive made two announcements:-

- (1) The first in the new series of members' briefings would take place on 22nd May starting at 6.00 pm. Code of conduct refresher training would take place on 23rd May starting at 5.30 pm
- (2) To thank David Edwards (Executive Director, City Regeneration and Housing) and Steve Sprason (former Head of Corporate Property) for their work on the Westgate redevelopment project that had culminated a few days ago in the signing of the development agreement.

7. ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Council noted that at the Annual Meeting of Council in 2012 (minute 9) it had elected Councillor Price as Leader of the Council for a four year term to 2016, as the law required.

8. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2013/14

The Head of Law and Governance submitted a report (previously circulated, now appended) which invited Council to appoint Committees for the Council Year 2013/14 and Member to serve upon those Committees.

Council agreed:

- (a) To appoint a Licensing Committee to discharge the responsibilities contained in the Licensing Act 2003 and the Gambling Act 2005, with powers and duties as set out in paragraphs 5.4 and 5.5 of the Constitution and with a membership as set out in the appendix to these minutes;
- (b) To appoint an East Area Planning Committee, a West Area Planning Committee, a Planning Review Committee, an Audit and Governance Committee, a General Purposes Licensing Committee, a Standards Committee, an Appointments Committee and a Disciplinary Committee for the Chief Executive, Directors and Heads of Service, with powers and duties as set out in Sections 5 and 7 of the Constitution, and members to serve upon them (and with one co-opted member on the Standards Committee, namely a parish council member from one of the Oxford

parish councils to represent parish council interests) as set out in the appendix to these minutes;

- (c) To appoint a scrutiny committee with a membership as set out in the appendix to these minutes;
- (d) That all members of Council should constitute the pool of members from which an observer representative would be invited to observe at appeals bodies as described in paragraph 4 of this report;
- (e) To appoint Councillor Susanna Pressel to the Oxfordshire Joint Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee;
- (f) To authorise the Head of Law and Governance to make any changes to the Constitution in consequence of Council's decisions on committee appointments and powers and duties.

9. REPORT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Bob Price, Leader of the Council, informed Council of the Board Members for 2013/14 along with their portfolios:

Councillor Bob Price (Leader)

Councillor Ed Turner (Deputy Leader)

Councillor Susan Brown – Benefits and Customer Services

Councillor Bev Clack - Youth and Communities

Councillor Pat Kennedy – Education, Crime and Community Safety

Councillor Mark Lygo - Parks, Sports and Events

Councillor Mike Rowley – Leisure Services

Councillor Scott Seamons - Housing

Councillor John Tanner - Cleaner Greener Oxford

10. COUNCIL SCHEME OF DELEGATION

Council agreed to reaffirm for the council Year 2013/14 the Council's Scheme of Delegation as set out in Section 5 of the Council's Constitution.

The meeting started at 4.30 pm and ended at 4.45 pm

This page is intentionally left blank